OFNC change of chair and secretary

OFNC logo

Following the conclusion of the 2023/24 GOS fee and grants negotiating round and the successful delegation of POS functions from NHS England to ICBs, Paul Carrol (FODO) and Dr Peter Hampson (AOP) have taken over from Gordon Ilett (AOP) and David Hewlett (FODO) as OFNC chair and secretary respectively. The changes came into effect on 1 May.

This is in line with OFNC protocol whereby the chair and secretary roles alternate between AOP and FODO. This is to combine essential continuity of knowledge, memory and experience with effective succession planning, the bringing on of new talent and ongoing engagement with DHSC and NHS England.

Both Paul and Peter are experienced members of the OFNC negotiating team and Paul’s reappointment will enable him to complete his two-year tenure as chair – originally having served one year during the height of the pandemic.

Gordon is retiring from the AOP Board but will be part of the usual detailed handover to ensure his experience is not lost and David is staying on as a FODO nominated member of OFNC.

Gordon said: ”Although it has been very hard, challenging and frustrating work at times, I have very much enjoyed my time on OFNC and my two years as chair.  In handing on to Paul and Peter, David and I are confident that the sector is in very good and experienced hands.”


Note for Editors

The Optometric Fees Negotiating Committee (OFNC) is the national negotiating body for eye care in England with the Westminster Parliament, the Department of Health and Social Care, and NHS England. It comprises the leaders of the UK representative bodies ABDO, AOP, FODO and BMA (for OMPs) and works in partnerships with the College of Optometrists and the General Optical Council.

Paul Carroll is a non-exec director of FODO, director of professional services at Specsavers and an optometrist joint venture partner of two practices in the Northwest.

Dr Peter Hampson is an optometrist in independent practice in the West Midlands. He is also Clinical and professional director at the Association of Optometrists, co-chair of the sector Information and IT committee and part-time module leader at Cardiff University.