CET and skills guides

Study and gain CET points through OT’s online CET exams, and access archived CET, CPD articles and skills guides in our education library

Find out more

Science and vision

News and features about the latest scientific developments and advances in optometry, ophthalmology and eye medicine

Find out more

Professional support

News and features about the latest developments relating to professional support from across optics. This includes updates from optical organisations such as the AOP and the GOC

Find out more


Explore the latest UK and global jobs in the optical sector for optometrists, dispensing opticians and more

Find out more

College of Optometrists introduces new president

Optometrist and academic, Professor Edward Mallen, was named president at Optometry Tomorrow

Professor Edward Mallen

The College of Optometrists formally welcomed its new president and five new council members at its annual AGM and conference.

College board member, head of the school of optometry and vision science and professor of physiological optics at the University of Bradford, Professor Edward Mallen (pictured left), was introduced during Optometry Tomorrow (18–19 March) at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel.

Speaking about his appointment, Professor Mallen said he was delighted to be elected as the new president of the College. 

“I am proud of our profession, and look forward to continuing the great work of our immediate past president, Dr Mary-Ann Sherratt,” he shared. 

“Optometrists are well-placed to improve the eye health of the nation. We are at a time of great opportunity right now, and I’m excited by the developments that could lie ahead,” Professor Mallen added.

The five new council members include optometrists Prab Boparai (West Midlands), Lorcan Butler and Lisa O Donoghue (Northern Ireland), Dr Irene Ctori (London) and Deepali Modha (East).

Talking about the new council members, Professor Mallen said: “I would like to welcome our new council members and would also like to take this opportunity to acknowledge and thank our very committed council and board members standing down after many years of service to the College, particularly Dr Cindy Tromans and Dr David Parkins, who have both served 14 years each.”

Following the College election in January, six members have retained their seats and five have stepped down.

Other appointments announced by the College at Optometry Tomorrow included optometrist Colin Davidson as its new vice president.

Pictured: Dr Sherratt and Professor Mallen