New AOP Councillors announced

The AOP welcomes 14 members to its Council for elected and appointed positions

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) announces new Council representatives, across different modes of practice and career stages.

Adam Sampson, AOP Chief Executive, said: “I’m pleased to welcome our new and returning Council members, who bring a breadth of knowledge and experience to their positions in representing our members and the profession. Our Councillors play a crucial role in shaping our policy work and informing our member services. I look forward to working with them to drive change in the sector and advance the future of optics.

Emma Spofforth, AOP Chairman of the Board and Council, said: “We’d like to thank all of the candidates who put themselves forward for this year’s election and appointed positions. It is encouraging to see such active engagement from our members, and we welcome their input in tackling the key issues impacting the profession.”

“I commend our current and departing Councillors for their dedication and commitment to fully representing all members’ interests – their insight continues to be instrumental in shaping our policy making and building the AOP’s influence.”

Ki Yan Lam, Undergraduate student Councillor, said: “I am delighted with my appointment as a Councillor, which will give me the opportunity to amplify voices, advocate for their needs, and contribute to the optometry community. I am committed to representing my peers and ensuring that their concerns are heard and addressed effectively.”

Newly elected and appointed Council members

Elected / appointed position Councillor
Dispensing optician Sarah White
East of England Nicholas Hagan
East Midlands Reena Rani Anand
London Jagdeep Kaur Gill
Newly qualified and Early career optometrist Summaya Ali
North East England Simon Raw
North West Sarah Lowry
Northern Ireland Catherine McGukin
Pre-registration optometrist Habeeb Rahman
Scotland Frances Jamieson
Scotland Johnathan Waugh
South East England Rachel Hiscox
South West England Karen Gennard
Undergraduate student Ki Yan Lam
Wales Martin Sweeney
West Midlands Sukhi Drake
Yorkshire and the Humber Nizz Sabir

The AOP invited nominations from eligible members for its Council on 19 February.

Council elections took place between 28 March and 23 April, with members invited to vote in the constituencies that were contested by more than one candidate: East of England, North East England, South West England and West Midlands.

The Appointments Committee made the final decision on the designated positions on 24 April on four designated positions: Dispensing optician, Pre-registration optometrist, Newly-qualified and Early career optometrist, and Undergraduate student.

Councillors will begin their term of office on 5 June 2024 at the AOP’s annual AGM.

For more information on the AOP Council and the role of Councillors, visit,


For more information, please contact Anjola Sulaiman, PR and Media Executive, at the Association of Optometrists, [email protected] or telephone 0207 549 2062.

Notes to Editors

Association of Optometrists

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) is the voice of the optical profession, representing over 80% of practising optometrists. The AOP elevates the work of its members, safeguards their interests, and champions eye health across the UK. For more information, visit