AOP announces new Council members

Designated AOP Council positions filled following appointment period in March 2019

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) is pleased to announce its new designated Council members, following the appointment process in March 2019.

Representing a range of practice types and career stages, the designated Councillors allow a diverse range of voices to be heard at the Association.
Returning dispensing optician representative, James Dawson, who has already served one three-year term, said: “I am looking forward to continuing to ensure that the voice of DOs is heard at Council. We are in a transition period where careful discussion and collaboration is needed for the industry as a whole, especially with potential GOC-enforced changes to mode of practice and education."

Henrietta Alderman, AOP Chief Executive, said: “I’d like to warmly welcome our new and re-elected Councillors, who play a vital role in informing our policy making and helping to shape the future of the profession. With exciting projects and opportunities ahead, we’re very much looking forward to working closely with our Councillors on the key issues facing optics.”

Ms Alderman continued: “I would also like to offer my thanks to our current and departing Councillors for all their hard work during their terms.”

This year, the AOP asked members to put themselves forward for six designated AOP Council positions: Undergraduate Optometry Student, Pre-registration Optometrist, Newly-qualified Optometrist, Early Career Optometrist, Dispensing Optician and Franchisee/Joint Venture Partner. These positions sit alongside the Council’s elected regional representatives and designated Councillors representing university lecturers and hospital optometrists, who are selected internally.

The appointed Councillors will begin their terms of office on 12 June 2019. The undergraduate optometry student representative and the pre-registration representative will serve a one-year-term, while the other positions serve three-year terms. 

Newly-elected appointed, designated positions:

Councillor Constituency 
Luke McRoy-Jones Undergraduate Optometry Student
Shoaib Ilyas Pre-registration Optometrist
Josie Evans Newly-qualified Optometrist
Sana Asif Early Career Optometrist
James Dawson Dispensing Optician
Jonathan Bennett Franchisee/Joint Venture Partner

AOP members can contact their Councillors through the Association’s online community forums.

For more information about the 2019 appointments and the role of Councillors visit the AOP website, 


For more information, please contact Philomena Obasi-Adams, Marketing and PR Officer, at the Association of Optometrists, [email protected] or telephone 020 7549 2063.

Notes to Editors

Association of Optometrists 

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) is the leading representative membership organisation for optometrists in the UK. We support over 80% of practising optometrists, to fulfil their professional roles to protect the nation’s eye health. For more information, visit

AOP Council

The AOP Council acts as a representative body for the Association’s membership. It consists of 33 members, 25 of whom are elected to represent geographical areas, with 18 Councillors from English regions, three from Scotland and two each from Wales and Northern Ireland. The remaining positions represent specific areas or career stages in optics and are designated, meaning they are selected by the AOP Appointments Committee.

For a full list of AOP Council members as of the 7 May 2019 – includes Councillors who continue their term of office – visit