AOP announces new Council members

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) is delighted to announce the new members of its Council, following the election and appointment process in April 2018. The Councillors will begin their three-year term of office on 6 June.

This year, geographical positions were contested in Scotland, South East England, South West England, West Midlands and Yorkshire and the Humber.

Councillors were elected unopposed in the East Midlands, East of England, London, North East England, North West England, Northern Ireland and Wales.  

The AOP also received applications from undergraduate students, pre-registration optometrists and newly-qualified optometrists for three appointed, designated posts.  

Henrietta Alderman, AOP Chief Executive, said: “Highly deserved congratulations are in order for our re-elected and newly-elected Council members, who’ve already made a significant contribution to the profession – proving their dedication and passion in striving for optometry. Some interesting challenges and opportunities lie ahead, and I’m very much looking forward to working with these individuals on the key issues facing optics in the coming years.”    

Ms Alderman continued: “I’d like to thank all of those who have been part of the election process this year – with particular thanks to all those who put themselves forward for these important roles including designated positions, which received an unprecedented amount of applications. I also extend my gratitude to our outgoing Councillors for all their hard work.” 

Newly-elected AOP Council members 

Newly-elected Councillors representing geographical constituencies across the UK.




 Emma Spofforth East of England
 Tushar Majithia East Midlands 
 Gordon Ilett London
 Jane Ranns North East England
 Martin Sweeney North West England
 Valarie Jerome South East England
 Ed Bickerstaffe South West England
 Francesca Marchetti West Midlands
 Stewart Mitchell Yorkshire and the Humber
 Julie-Anne Little Northern Ireland

Eilidh Martin
Kevin Wallace


Nadeen Joseph


Newly-elected appointed, designated positions 





 Shivani Rughani Newly Qualified Optometrist
 Ali Yasen Pre-registration Optometrist
 Shoaib Ilyas Undergraduate Student Optometrist 

AOP members can contact their Councillors through the Association’s online community forums

For more information about the 2018 election and the role of Councillors visit the AOP website,


For more information, please contact Serena Box, PR and Media Manager, at the Association of Optometrists, [email protected] or telephone 020 7549 2063.

For High Resolution images please visit this Dropbox folder.

Notes to Editors

Association of Optometrists 

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) is the leading representative membership organisation for optometrists in the UK. We support over 80% of practising optometrists, to fulfil their professional roles to protect the nation’s eye health. For more information, visit

Full list of AOP Council members as of the 6 June 2018 – includes Councillors who continue their term of office





Deepali Modha
Emma Spofforth 
East of England
Tushar Majithia
Bhavik Parmar
East Midlands
Gordon Ilett
Rakhee Shah
Angela Henderson
Jane Ranns
North East England
Dharmesh Patel 
Martin Sweeney
North West England  
Andrew Bridges 
Valarie Jerome
South East England 
Jane Bell
Ed Bickerstaffe
South West England
Susan Bowers
Francesca Marchetti 
West Midlands

Stewart Mitchell
Nizz Sabir 
Yorkshire and the Humber
Julie-Anne Little
Brian McKeown 
Northern Ireland
Alison McClune 
Eilidh Martin
Kevin Wallace 
Mike George
Nadeen Joseph

Appointed designated positions



 Designated position

 David Adams
 Hospital Optometrist
 Shivani Rughani
 Newly-qualified Optometrist
 Jonathan Bennett
 Franchisee/Joint Venture Optometrist
 James Dawson
 Dispensing Optician
 Will Holmes University Lecturer 
 Fatima Nawaz Early Career Optometrist 
 Ali Yasen  Pre-registration Optometrist
 Shoaib Ilyas Undergraduate Student Optometrist