Profession’s best sought for AOP Awards 2018

The AOP is seeking the best in the optical profession as members are invited to make their nominations for the AOP Awards 2018

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) has opened nominations for the AOP Awards 2018. From today (26 May) patients and practitioners will be able to nominate individuals and organisations in 12 categories – including the new category, Health and Wellbeing Practice of the Year.

Taking place at 100% Optical 2018, the AOP Awards celebrates the highest level of achievement in UK optics. In addition to the 12 categories opening today will be the Lifetime Achievement Award, which is selected by an AOP judging panel. There are also two members’ choice awards; Product of the Year and Frame of the Year which are nominated within the sector and voted for exclusively by AOP members.

Frame of the Year, along with the Health and Wellbeing Practice of the Year, is a newcomer to the 2018 event. Introduced after the success of Product of the Year, the category will celebrate the impact of good design, both aesthetically and practically, for practitioner and patient.

Commenting on the new categories, AOP Chief Executive, Henrietta Alderman, said: “One of the best aspects of the AOP Awards is the opportunity it gives to celebrate diversity and passion in optics. In keeping with this, Frame of the Year will highlight innovation in the sector, as chosen by those who work within it.

“The Awards this year will also recognise the importance of a positive working environment with the introduction of Health and Wellbeing Practice of the Year. The event has always looked to celebrate those organisations and individuals who promote wellness among their colleagues and we’re delighted that this new award will shine a spotlight on that important work.”

Ms Alderman continued: “The AOP Awards are about recognising practitioners who contribute so much to the public and profession – with 12 categories opening today do have a look and consider putting yourself forward or nominating a colleague.”

The AOP Awards 2018 will build on the success of the 2017 event, in which over 20,000 votes were cast. Commenting on her win, 2017’s Optometrist of the Year, Prabhjit Boparai, said that receiving the accolade had been overwhelming: “I am elated. Winning means my years of hard work and passion have been recognised.”

Individuals wishing to nominate should visit our Awards categories page.


For more information, please contact Emily Campbell, PR and Marketing Officer, at the Association of Optometrists, [email protected] or telephone 020 7549 2040.

Notes to Editors

Association of Optometrists

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) is the leading representative membership organisation for optometrists in the UK. We support our community of more than 17,000 members to fulfil their professional roles to protect the nation’s eye health. As a founding member of the Optical Confederation we work with others to improve eye health for the public good. For more information, visit

AOP Awards

Now in its seventh year, the AOP Awards has quickly become a highlight of the optical calendar. Taking place at ExCeL London on Sunday, 28 January 2018, the ceremony will recognise achievement in 15 categories, 12 of which are open to public nomination. For these categories nominations will be open from Friday, 26 May to 10am on Friday, 7 July. A panel of expert judges will select a shortlist to be put forward for public vote from Friday, 29 September to Tuesday, 12 December 2017.

The following awards are now open for nominations:

  • Charity of the Year, sponsored by Lloyd and Whyte

  • Contact Lens Practitioner of the Year, sponsored by CooperVision

  • Dispensing Optician of the Year

  • Health and Wellbeing Practice of the Year

  • Lecturer of the Year

  • Marketing Initiative of the Year

  • Newly-qualified Optometrist of the Year, sponsored by Leightons Opticians and Hearing Care

  • Optometrist of the Year

  • Optical Team of the Year

  • Practice of the Year

  • Student of the Year, Sponsored by Keeler

  • Young Practice of the Year

Nomination terms and conditions can be found on the AOP website.

The following members’ choice awards will be shortlisted by an internal judging panel with the winner decided by an AOP member only vote, open from 29 September to 12 December 2017. Parties interested in nominating a frame or product should contact [email protected]

  • Frame of the Year - Members' choice award

  • Product of the Year - Members' choice award

The following award will be decided by an internal judging panel of industry experts.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Alcon

For more information about the AOP Awards visit