Winners of the AOP Awards 2017 announced

The national awards ceremony took place on Sunday 5 February in London

Winners of the AOP Awards 2017 were announced on 5 February at a national awards ceremony in London. Run by the Association of Optometrists (AOP) and sponsored by Alcon Academy for Eyecare Excellence, the awards recognise the highest levels of achievement in UK optics.

With a career spanning more than 50 years, optometrist, Bob Chappell received the Lifetime Achievement award in recognition of the pivotal role he has played in driving the profession forward in a wide range of areas in the UK, Europe and globally. Mr Chappell, said he was honoured to be the recipient of this award, commenting: “It feels absolutely amazing. It was a real surprise and when I learnt the news, I was absolutely delighted.”

On presenting the award, AOP’s Chair of the Board, Kevin Thompson commended Mr Chappell for his work saying: “I’m delighted to be giving this very special award to someone who has been involved in every aspect of optics – from practice ownership and industry to optical body presidencies and charity work. He has influenced optometry significantly, both at home and internationally.”  

Wolverhampton based optometrist, Prabhjit Boparai, scooped the Optometrist of the Year category, in recognition of her exceptional commitment to patient care and work to raise the profile of eye health. Ms Boparai, said: “I am elated and over the moon. Winning means my years of hard work and passion have been recognised.”

Taank Optometrists in Cambridge received the Practice of the Year award, in recognition of its outstanding and innovative service to the local community. Commenting on the accolade, Practice owner and optometrist, Anjana Taank, said: “We’re always delighted when we receive industry recognition that proves we’re raising the bar in terms of giving patients outstanding eye care.”

Henrietta Alderman, AOP Chief Executive, said: “The AOP Awards give us the opportunity to celebrate those who have given so much to the public and the profession. Our 2017 finalists have demonstrated some extraordinary achievements. I would like to congratulate all of them and especially the winners on their commitment and passion.”

Comedian, Holly Walsh who hosted this year's ceremony said: "The atmosphere at the ceremony was really good – a tangible sense of excitement, it was obvious all the nominees had so much support behind them. I think there was a lot of passion in the room, and that's always great to be part of."

More than 20,000 votes were cast across this year’s awards categories. For more information on the AOP Awards 2017, including details of all the winners and shortlisted nominees, visit our AOP Awards section


For more information, please contact Serena Box, PR and Media Manager, at the Association of Optometrists, [email protected] or telephone 020 7549 2063.

Notes to Editors

Association of Optometrists

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) is the leading representative membership organisation for optometrists in the UK. We support our community of more than 16,500 members to fulfil their professional roles to protect the nation’s eye health. As a founding member of the Optical Confederation we work with others to improve eye health for the public good. For more information, visit

AOP Awards

The AOP Awards recognises the highest levels of achievement in UK optics and has quickly become a highlight of the optical calendar since its launch in 2011. Previously held during the National Optical Conference in Birmingham, the AOP Awards was held, for the first time at 100% Optical in 2017. Shortlisted entries were open for a public vote from 30 September – 18 December 2016. 

We would like to thank all our sponsors – Alcon Academy for Eyecare Excellence™, Alcon, Cerium Visual Technologies, CooperVision, Essilor, eyespace, Keeler, Leightons Opticians, Lloyd & Whyte, 100% Optical, The Optical Consumer Complaints Service, OCUCO and Scope Ophthalmics – for their continued support.

  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Bob Chappell, sponsored by Alcon Academy for Eyecare Excellence
  • Optometrist of the Year – Prabhjit Boparai, sponsored by Ocuco
  • Practice of the Year – Taank Optometrists, sponsored by Scope Ophthalmics
  • Charity of the Year – See Belfast, sponsored by Lloyd & Whyte
  • Contact Lens Practitioner of the Year – Suresh Munyal , sponsored by CooperVision
  • Dispensing Optician of the Year – Sophie Johnson, sponsored by eyespace
  • Lecturer of the Year – Dr Amit Jinabhai, sponsored by 100% Optical
  • Marketing Initiative of the Year – Davies & Jones Optometrists, sponsored by Essilor
  • Members' Choice Award, Product of the Year – Dailies Total1 Multifocal
  • Newly-qualified Optometrist of the Year – Dilesh Makwana, sponsored by Leightons Opticians
  • Optical Assistant of the Year – Lisa Skelton, sponsored by Optical Consumer Complaints Service
  • Student of the Year – Niraj Shah, sponsored by Keeler
  • Young Practice of the Year – Lunettes Opticians, sponsored by Cerium Visual Technologies

Optometry Today

Optometry Today (OT) has a readership of 15,000 members and subscribers. OT was named as the ‘Best Professional Association or Royal College magazine’ at the MemCom 2016 Awards. Organised by MemCom – the networking organisation for membership marketing professionals – the awards recognise and celebrate excellence within the membership sector. The OT website offers subscribers exclusive access to over 65 CET exams per year, including bi-monthly CET video content. For more information, visit