College of Optometrists awards new fellowships

The College’s highest award recognises the contribution of optometrists to the profession

The College of Optometrists has recognised the outstanding contributions of five individuals to the profession with new life and honorary fellowships.

Three new life fellowships and two new honorary fellowships have been made, which are the College’s highest awards.

President of the College of Optometrists, Dr Mary-Ann Sherratt, said: “It is our opportunity to recognise and celebrate the most outstanding and significant achievements made by some of the most talented and committed individuals working within eye and vision care, and their exceptional contribution to the advancement of the profession.”

The three life fellowships have been awarded to Professor Stephen J Dain, Fred Giltrow-Tyler and Peter Hong.

Mr Dain is a school of optometry and vision science professor at the University of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia. He has been recognised for his career in academia and research in the UK and Australia, as well as his contributions to national and international standards for eye and face protection.

The College has awarded Mr Giltrow-Tyler for his lifetime commitment to hospital optometry and the development of the profession. He is the principal optometrist and head of optometry services at Bristol Eye Hospital.

Locum therapeutic optometrist, Mr Hong, has been recognised by the College as an inspiration for his charitable work as well as developing the profession.

Professor Caroline MacEwan, consultant ophthalmologist at Ninewells Hospital in Dundee, and chief executive of the Federation of Manufacturing Opticians, Bryony Pawinska, have been made honorary fellows of the College.

The College has recognised Professor MacEwan for her role in bringing ophthalmologists and optometrists together for the benefit of patients’ eye health.

Ms Pawinska has been made a fellow for the change she delivered during her 12 years as chief executive of the College. 

The College has also awarded two fellowships by portfolio to Dr John Gurney and Dr Ahmed Sivardeen to recognise their achievements in the workplace. 

The awards will be presented at the annual diploma ceremony on 14 November at Central Hall Westminster. 


Comments (0)

You must be logged in to join the discussion. Log in

Report a comment
Close modal