College announces new council members

The College of Optometrists has announced two new members to its council

Plaque outside of the College of Optometrists' office
The College of Optometrists has announced two new members to its council following its 2015/16 elections. The posts will be occupied by director of research and reader in optometry and physiological optics at Aston University, Dr Leon Davies, and independent optometrist Dr Parth Shah.

Dr Davies joins the council as a representative for West Midlands, while Dr Shah joins for the Eastern region. Both were welcomed into their new roles at the College AGM earlier this month.

President of the College, David Parkins said: “I would like to congratulate all the successful candidates and welcome them to the College council.

“The council plays a vital role in ensuring that the College remains true to its values and accountable to its members whilst helping to shape the profession.”

Council members Colin Davidson was elected to the role of treasurer during the AGM and Kiki Soteri was elected to the board of trustees.

Dr Joy Myint representing London, Professor Kathryn Saunders and Dr Sara McCullough for Northern Ireland and Jonathan Waugh representing Scotland were all reelected. In addition, Parminder Randhawa was co-opted to represent the Eastern region for one year.

Mr Parkins added: “I would also like to thank those whose time on council has ended, including outgoing treasurer, Dr Rob Hogan.”