Optometrist elected vice chair of CCEHC

Optometrist Zoe Richmond has been elected to serve in the role for the Clinical Council for Eye Health Commissioning

patient and volk lens
Pixabay/Paul Diaconu
Optometrist and Local Optical Committee Support Unit interim clinical director, Zoe Richmond, has been elected vice chair of the Clinical Council for Eye Health Commissioning (CCEHC).

Consultant ophthalmologist, Wojciech Karwatowski, was elected to the role of chair.

The pair will take over the roles in October 2021 from current chair, Parul Desai, and vice chair, David Parkins.

Zoe Richmond
Optometrist Zoe Richmond
Reflecting on her election, Richmond said she is “delighted” to be working with the CCEHC to deliver transformational change for eye care that will benefit patients and population eye health.

“As we stand on the brink of wholesale NHS reform, it is more important than ever that the voice of our sector is heard where it matters,” she emphasised.

Describing his focus for the role, Karwatowski highlighted: “My priority is to build on partnerships and mutual understanding between members, and maintain a focus on delivering efficient, effective and high-quality modern patient care now and into the future.”

Desai shared that serving in the role of CCEHC chair has been a privilege.

“The CCEHC has been a key voice in promoting eye health commissioning to deliver improved services for patients through developing a range of commissioning frameworks. The pandemic has revealed shortcomings in how eye care in England has been delivered and adopting the recommendations of the Council will be crucial if we are to lead the world in high quality eye care services for patients,” she said.