Excellence in eye care

AOP announces Excellence in eye care award winners

The winners of the AOP’s Excellence in eye care accolades were revealed alongside the recipient of its prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award during a celebratory event yesterday evening (26 February)

All winners
Noah Da Costa

Optometrist Professor Bruce Evans has been named as the recipient of the AOP’s 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Evans, whose career of more than three decades has spanned from community optometry practice to a PhD in dyslexia and vision, and a quarter of a century as director of research at the Institute of Optometry in London, accepted the accolade during the AOP’s Excellence in eye care evening in London yesterday (26 February).

On presenting the accolade, chairman of the AOP, Dr Julie-Anne Little, said she was delighted to be giving this award to “someone who has demonstrated extraordinary dedication and commitment across his career – making such a far-reaching impact on optometry, and I’m sure there is more to come!”

The evening, hosted onboard the Sunborn Yacht, recognised excellence across a number of areas of the profession, with the AOP also announcing the winners of three award categories that focus on sustainability, research and community-led care.

The reception was headline sponsored by CooperVision, alongside Specsavers and Lloyd & Whyte.

The AOP Excellence in eye care winners and their reactions

Lifetime Achievement Award: Professor Bruce Evans 

Sponsored by CooperVision

How did you feel when you learnt of the AOP accolade?

“It is a real surprise, a huge honour, and a slight sense of impostor syndrome, because I know lots of people in the profession who I think deserve it much more than me. A huge sense of gratitude, because it is really a reflection of the teams that I’ve worked with and of the people that have inspired me.”

Read more about Evans’ career in optometry.

Recognising sustainable excellence: Simon Berry

How did you feel when you learnt of the AOP accolade?

“It was a complete surprise and it’s really nice to be recognised.”

Read more about Berry’s sustainability journey.

Recognising excellence in community-led care: Cardiff and Vale University Health Board Primary Care Optometry and Secondary Care Glaucoma Teams

Sponsored by Specsavers

What does winning this award mean to you?

Sharon Beatty, former optometric advisor UHB: “This award is dedicated to everyone who has been involved, as the success of the project has relied on so many colleagues working together to support transformation of services, which is benefitting patient care.” 

Gareth Bulpin, Cardiff and Vale UHB – Eye Care Digitalisation: “As a patient of the eye service myself, it is particularly rewarding to be recognised by the AOP for the work in addressing the ‘perfect storm’ in our local ophthalmic services today. Being recognised by the AOP for our work to improve care for other patients is incredibly rewarding.”

Read more about Cardiff and Vale UHB’s eye care digitalisation project.

Recognising research excellence: Professor James Wolffsohn

Sponsored by Lloyd & Whyte

How did you feel when you learnt of the AOP accolade?

“I was truly honoured. It is lovely to have your research recognised and I applaud the AOP for recognising academics and clinicians who are pushing the boundaries forward. We need to inspire the next generation of optometrists to be innovators – that will be to the benefit of everyone.”

Read more about Wolffsohn’s achievements.