Doctor of Optometry graduates recognised at ceremony

The event was held in London and recognised six optometrists

Optometrists qualifying from Dr of optometry course

The Institute of Optometry and London South Bank University awarded six optometrists the Doctor of Optometry qualification at a ceremony held at Royal Festival Hall in London (5 November).

Optometrists (pictured above in blue, left to right) Paul Grace, Claudia Ashleigh, Sharifa Hirani, David Burns, David Parkins and Kath Goris were all recognised at the event. 

Director of studies for all six graduates, Professor Bruce Evans (pictured above, centre), said: “It has been a great pleasure to see these clinicians develop into researchers through the doctorate process and to see their very worthwhile research add to the evidence base underlying optometric practice.”

Professor Rishi Agarwal, who helped establish the professional doctorate programme, also congratulated the optometrists on their hard work and dedication.

“I am delighted to see these six clinicians become doctors of optometry,” Professor Agarwal said.