Scope IP Bursary Award 2023 winners announced

The three winners will receive £1500 towards course fees

The frame is split three-ways to display pictures of: Nkosi Yearwood, Lucky Aziken and Umar Vania

Scope Eyecare has presented its second Independent Prescriber Bursary Awards.

The initiative, which launched last year, aims to support the winning eye care professionals with a bursary towards the costs of an Independent Prescriber course.

The final of the 2023 Scope IP Bursary Award was held on 29 June.

Six finalists presented case studies and answered questions before a panel of judges led by Professor Nick Rumney, and including Sarah Farrant, Louise Madden and Ailbhe Ni Raighne.

The three winners were announced as: Nkosi Yearwood, of A&A Stevens Opticians in Caerphilly, Lucky Aziken, of Specsavers Blackwood in Cardiff, and Umar Vania, of East Kent Hospitals University Foundation Trust in Canterbury.

The winners will each receive a bursary of £1500 towards independent prescriber (IP) course fees.

Three runners-up each received a £100 educational voucher. These included: Sabrina Begum from Boots Opticians in Yardley, Rebecca Lewis of Bayfields Maidstone/Estuary View Medical Practice Whitstable, and Jasmeen Khera, from Specsavers in Staines.

Scope shared its pride at the success of the bursary initiative, sharing delight that “the award has created so much continued interest with optometrists wanting to upskill, which can only benefit patients.”

“Scope looks forward to the continued success of this award and is committed to supporting optometrists on their optometry journey,” the company added.