Search begins for 2017 IACLE Award winners

Contact lens educators urged to enter before 31 January deadline to win travel bursary to attend BCLA’s 40th Clinical Conference and Exhibition in June

IACLE Awards

Contact lens educators around the world are being urged to enter the International Association of Contact Lens Educators (IACLE) Awards. The deadline for entries is Tuesday 31 January. 

The winners of the 2017 accolades will become an IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year and travel to the British Contact Lens Association’s (BCLA) 40th Clinical Conference and Exhibition event in Liverpool (9–11 June). 

The awards will be presented to three people, one from each of IACLE’s three global regions – Europe, Africa and the Middle East, Asia Pacific, and the Americas.

The winners will receive a bursary of up to $3,000 US towards the cost of attending the 40th BCLA event and can use the title 2017 IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year for their region. A certificate to mark the award will be presented at the conference.

The awards are open to all IACLE members from any country, with preference given to IACLE fellows, or those who have attempted the IACLE fellowship examination.

An additional accolade is the IACLE Travel Award for an IACLE educator member starting their career who would not otherwise be able to attend a major international conference. It is sponsored by IACLE and supported by the BCLA.

The winner will also receive a bursary of up to $3,000 US towards the cost of attending the BCLA conference, where the award will be presented.

Commenting on her experience of winning the 2016 IACLE travel award, contact lens lecturer at the Jordan Institute of Science and Technology, Eman Alzghoul, said: “The award has been the biggest opportunity I’ve had since I started teaching. Thanks to this opportunity, my experience, knowledge and confidence increased incredibly.”

IACLE president, Dr Shehzad Naroo, urged all IACLE members to consider entering this year’s competition.

He added: “We’re delighted that our 2017 award winners will be invited to attend the BCLA conference in Liverpool. We are grateful to CooperVision for continuing to sponsor the educator awards and to the BCLA for supporting the travel award.

Dr Naroo emphasised: “Remember you can be nominated by a colleague, or self-nominate.”  

CooperVision’s vice president of global professional and clinical affairs, Dr Gary Orsborn, said: “We are proud to partner with IACLE to recognise those who dedicate themselves to teaching others in extraordinary ways. We look forward to meeting this year’s honourees at the BCLA.”

Pictured are the 2016 IACLE Awards winners (left to right): Aston University’s Professor James Wolffsohn, Ms Alzghoul, Dr Prema Chande and Dr Jorge Giovanni Vargas.

Application forms for the awards can be found on the IACLE website.