Our Board sets the strategic direction of the organisation

Mike George

Members of the Board oversee the running of the organisation. They deal with issues as they arise and respond to challenges faced by our members. Our Board consists of nine members, five are Council members, one is a non-Council member, one is a past chairman and there are two lay members.

The Board’s responsibilities include:

  • Ensuring that our finances are managed properly
  • Taking a long-term view in setting our strategy
  • Overseeing and managing the work of our committees
  • Appointing members to work on particular projects
  • Appointing the Chief Executive of the AOP, Henrietta Alderman
  • Working with our Chief Executive and the executive team to ensure effective implementation of our work
  • Setting membership fees


Michael George, Chairman

Elected by AOP Council

George Michael

Kevin Thompson, past Chairman

Thompson Kevin

Vivian Bush

Bush Vivian

Michael Fegan

Lay member

Fegan Michael

Gordon Ilett

Elected by AOP Council

AOP Councillor Gordon Ilet

Julie-Anne Little

Elected by AOP Council

AOP Councillor Julie Anne Little

Tushar Majithia

Elected by AOP Council

AOP Councillor Tushar Majithia

Emma Jane Spofforth

Elected by AOP Council

Spofforth Emma Jane

Jeremy Holmes

Lay member

Holmes Jeremy