Our Board sets the strategic direction of the organisation

Members of the Board oversee the running of the organisation. They deal with issues as they arise and respond to challenges faced by our members. Our Board consists of nine members, five are Council members, one is a non-Council member, one is a past chairman and there are two non-optometrists.

The Board’s responsibilities include:

  • Ensuring that our finances are managed properly
  • Taking a long-term view in setting our strategy
  • Overseeing and managing the work of our committees;
  • Appointing members to work on particular projects
  • Appointing the Chief Executive of the AOP
  • Working with our Chief Executive, Henrietta Alderman, and executive team to ensure effective implementation of our work
  • Setting membership fees

We are recruiting a new Board Member to become part of our AOP Board from the wider membership

The successful candidate will be an optometrist member of the AOP, have an understanding of board governance, and knowledge or experience of non-executive responsibilities. They will also be able to draw on experience from the wider retail and financial markets.

The new Board member will provide advice and oversee strategic policy, governance and financial direction; and assist with the leadership and general promotion of the Association of Optometrists so as to support the organisation’s mission and needs.

We are looking for someone with leadership experience, integrity and credibility, with a passion for improving the lives of the AOP’s membership and the wider profession.  

The successful applicant will be informed after AOP Appointments Committee sits on 26 April, and will be expected to attend a meeting on July 18 2018.  

Read the full job description

To apply please email your CV and covering letter to
Remuneration: AOP day rates apply

Closing date: 6th April 2018.  

Michael George, Chairman

Elected by AOP Council

George Michael

Kevin Thompson, past Chairman

Thompson Kevin

Ed Bickerstaffe 

Elected by AOP Council

Bickerstaffe Ed

Vivian Bush

Bush Vivian

Michael Fegan

Lay member

Fegan Michael

Gordon Ilett

Elected by AOP Council

AOP Councillor Gordon Ilet

Julie-Anne Little

Elected by AOP Council

AOP Councillor Julie Anne Little

Emma Jane Spofforth

Elected by AOP Council

Spofforth Emma Jane

Jeremy Holmes

Lay member

Holmes Jeremy