Voting opens for the AOP Awards

Learn all about the AOP Awards 2017

Update: Voting closed on 18 December 2016.

Continuing reading to find out more about the AOP Awards 2017 which takes place on 5 February 2017. 

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) today releases its shortlist and opens for a public vote on the finalists of the prestigious AOP Awards.

The annual sector event recognises the highest levels of achievement in UK optics – celebrating extraordinary talent and outstanding contributions across the profession.

There are 11 awards voted for by the public, across 13 categories that showcase the breadth of important work being carried out by optical practitioners UK-wide. The Lifetime Achievement award is selected by the AOP Chair of the Board, Kevin Thompson, and the AOP Chief Executive, Henrietta Alderman. For the first time, AOP members will also vote for the Product of the Year award which will be launched in mid-October 2016.

Ms Alderman said the Awards is “about celebrating the talent and expertise of practitioners who contribute so much to the public and profession.” She added: “This year we have seen some remarkable entries, who demonstrate real commitment and skill in delivering for patients as well as playing an important role in the optical community. We are looking forward to giving them the recognition they deserve.”

Last year’s Optometrist of the Year winner, Dr Martin Smith, said he was overwhelmed when he won the accolade, commenting: “Winning Optometrist of the Year is a great feeling, it is an honour.”

Members of the public can cast their vote, and find out more about the Awards, by visiting Voting will close at midnight on Sunday 18 December.

The winners will be announced at a black tie awards ceremony on Sunday 5 February 2017. For the first time, the event is taking place at leading trade event 100% Optical in London. Patients and practitioners can help celebrate and support this year’s finalists by booking a ticket at:


For more information, please contact Serena Box, PR and Media Manager, at the Association of Optometrists, [email protected] or telephone 020 7549 2063.

Notes to Editors

Association of Optometrists

The Association of Optometrists (AOP) is the leading representative membership organisation for optometrists and other optical professionals in the UK. We support our community of more than 16,500 members to fulfil their professional roles to protect the nation’s eye health. As a founding member of the Optical Confederation we work with others to improve eye health for the public good. For more information, visit

AOP Awards

The AOP Awards recognises the highest levels of achievement in UK optics and has quickly become a highlight of the optical calendar since its launch in 2011. Previously held during the National Optical Conference in Birmingham, the AOP Awards will be relocated to 100% Optical on 5 February 2017. We would like to thank all our sponsors – Academy for Eye Care Excellence™, Alcon, Cerium Visual Technologies, CooperVision, Essilor, eyespace, Keeler, Leightons Opticians, Lloyd & Whyte, 100% Optical, The Optical Consumer Complaints Service and Scope Ophthalmics – for their continued support. For more information about sponsorship opportunities, contact Adam Lloyds at Think, at [email protected], or telephone 020 3771 7203.

Optometry Today

Optometry Today (OT) has an audience of 15,000 members and subscribers. OT was named as the ‘Best Professional Association or Royal College magazine’ at the MemCom 2016 Awards. Organised by MemCom – the networking organisation for membership marketing professionals – the awards recognise and celebrate excellence within the membership sector. The OT website offers subscribers exclusive access to over 65 CET exams per year, including bi-monthly CET video content. For more information, visit