CET and skills guides

Study and gain CET points through OT’s online CET exams, and access archived CET, CPD articles and skills guides in our education library

Find out more

Science and vision

News and features about the latest scientific developments and advances in optometry, ophthalmology and eye medicine

Find out more


News and features about the latest developments in optics with a focus on industry

Find out more

Professional support

News and features about the latest developments relating to professional support from across optics. This includes updates from optical organisations such as the AOP and the GOC

Find out more

In practice

News and in-depth features about business management and career development in optics

Find out more


Explore the latest UK and global jobs in the optical sector for optometrists, dispensing opticians and more

Find out more

Silmo d’Or winners announced

The Special Jury Prize went to Nathalie Blanc, while Essilor and Zeiss also went home with awards

Silmo d’Or awards winners

The winners of the 2018 Silmo d’Or were announced at a ceremony at the Musée des Arts Forains in Paris on Saturday evening (29 September).

The judging panel, which was led by Belgian interior designer, Michel Penneman, awarded the Special Jury Prize to Parisian eyewear brand Nathalie Blanc for its ‘Suzanne 253’ sunglasses style.

Thierry Lasry’s ‘Shorty 1654’ won the Premier Classe Prize (pictured), Impressio’s ‘609 Vortex2’ won the Sunglasses – Eyewear Designer category and Mora Busoli won the Optic Frame – Eyewear Designer category with its ‘Venti’ frame.

Other winners included Essilor in the Material/Equipment category for its ‘Vision R-800’ phoropter and Zeiss were joint winners in the Vision category for its UV Protect ophthalmic lenses with BBGR Optique’s Bluv Expert also being awarded.

View the full list of winners on the Silmo website.