Deadline approaching for voting on BCLA council

Members urged to have their say at ‘pivotal point of change’

23 Apr 2015 by Emily McCormick

Members of the British Contact Lens Association (BCLA) are being urged to participate in an electronic ballot to vote four new members into office on its council by the deadline of noon on Wednesday, 6 May.

A record number of nominations were received after the BCLA issued a call for nominations last month for two contact lens optician representatives, two optometric representatives, one medical representative and one technical representative.  

BCLA chief executive, Cheryl Donnelly, said: “It’s a truly exciting prospect to see so many members of our Association nominated to join the Council and help develop the BCLA from the inside out. By giving our members the opportunity to cast their votes online, we hope to see a bigger percentage turnout than ever before.”

Ms Donnelly added: “The association is at a pivotal point of change – so please nominate the person you feel will lead it on to the next stage.”  

Professor Sunil Shah will join the BCLA council next month, and Maxine Green will remain on council as technical representative as both vacancies were uncontested.

The optometrist candidates are: Alison Alderson, Jonathon Bench, Alex Gage, Indie Grewal Jonathan Jackson, Michael Killpartick, Elaine Lucas, Sheetal Patel and Neil Retallic.

The contact lens optician candidates are: Nick Atkins, Damian Conway, Nick Howard, Ros Mussa and David Samuel.

The successful candidates will be announced at the BCLA’s 2015 annual general meeting on Sunday, 31 May, at 4.15pm, during its clinical conference and exhibition at the ACC Liverpool. 


Your comments

You must be logged in to join the discussion. Log in

Comments (0)