AOP announces new Councillor appointments

The new councillors will formally take up their positions at the Association’s June Council meeting

AOP gavel

The AOP has announced the appointment of six new councillors, joining its Council under designated posts.

The appointments include Laura Josephs, who will represent undergraduate student optometrists; Inderpal Ghuman for pre-registration optometrists; Summaya Ali will represent newly-qualified and early career optometrists; James Dawson for dispensing opticians; and Will Holmes in the academic optometrist position.

Optometrist, Karen Gennard, also joins as a representative for South West England.

Following the announcement, Adam Sampson, chief executive of the AOP, said: “I’d like to warmly welcome our new and re-elected Councillors, who play a vital role in informing our policy work and member services, and guiding our positioning on key issues in optometry. I look forward to working with our new-look Council to tackle the challenges and maximise the opportunities for the profession.”

Sampson also thanked current and outgoing Councillors. “It is your hard work and commitment that enables the AOP to have a representative voice on the fundamental issues shaping optometry,” he said.

The AOP also currently has a vacancy on its Council for a franchisee/joint venture partner. The position is a designated one and therefore will be selected by the AOP Appointments Committee. The deadline for applications is 6 May, with the successful applicant expected to be announced at the end of the month. For more information on the post and how to apply, visit the AOP website. 

AOP members can contact their Councillors through the Association’s online community forums.