CPD and Education library

Study and gain CPD points through OT’s online CPD exams, and access archived CPD and CET articles, Practice team resources and Skills guides in our Education library

Find out more

Science and vision

News and features about the latest scientific developments and advances in optometry, ophthalmology and eye medicine

Find out more

Professional support

News and features about the latest developments relating to professional support from across optics. This includes updates from optical organisations such as the AOP and the GOC

Find out more


Explore the latest UK and global jobs in the optical sector for optometrists, dispensing opticians and more

Find out more

AOP Awards 2019 winners revealed

The winners of this year’s AOP Awards were announced during a black-tie gala dinner and ceremony yesterday

AOP Awards winners 2019

The winners of the 2019 AOP Awards were revealed last night (13 January) during a black-tie gala dinner and ceremony at London’s ExCeL.

The event, with is now in its eighth year, was hosted by comedian Jo Caulfield and headline sponsored by CooperVision.

With a career spanning more than 40 years in optics, Professor Dave Edgar was announced as the recipient of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

Speaking about receiving the accolade, Professor Edgar told OT: “It is a fantastic honour, I was amazed to be chosen.”

Other winners on the night were: Kris Cottier, who was named the recipient of the new Locum of the Year accolade; Dr Martin Smith, who won Optometrist of the Year; and Bhavin Shah, who was named Contact Lens Practitioner of the Year.

On receiving the accolade, Mr Cottier said: “This award is the pinnacle of a 20-year career in optometry.”

Speaking about the Awards, chief executive of the AOP, Henrietta Alderman said: “Those working in the profession will know that there is an incredible amount of dedication and passion in every area of optics, so it is fantastic to be able to recognise that in the AOP Awards.”

“From established practitioners or educators, to those practices and individuals just starting out, it has been immensely enjoyable finding out about their achievements and stories. I hope the profession will join me in congratulating them and wishing them every success in the future,” she added.

Watch what some of Professor Edgar’s colleagues had to say about the academic.