AOP Council elections results announced

The Association has revealed the results of this year’s Council election

AOP Council election results

The AOP has announced the names of those who have been elected to its Council.

Geographical positions that were contested included Scotland, South East England, South West England, West Midlands, and Yorkshire and the Humber.

For East Midlands, East of England, London, North East England, North West England, Northern Ireland and Wales, Councillors were elected unopposed.

The Association has also appointed members to three of its designated posts: undergraduate student optometrist, pre-registration optometrist and newly-qualified optometrist. Shoaib Ilyas, Ali Yasen and Shivani Rughani have been appointed to the positions respectively.

Newly elected Councillors include: Emma Spofforth, Tushar Majithia, Gordon Ilett, Jane Ranns, Martin Sweeney, Ed Bickerstaffe, Valarie Jerome, Francesca Marchetti, Stewart Michell, Julie-Anne Little, Eilidh Martin, Kevin Wallace and Nadeen Joseph. 

The Councillors will officially begin their three-year term of office on 6 June.

Chief executive of the AOP, Henrietta Alderman congratulated both re-elected and newly-elected Council members who she said have “already made a significant contribution to the profession – proving their dedication and passion in striving for optometry.”

Ms Alderman added: “I’d like to thank all of those who have been part of the election process this year – with particular thanks to all those who put themselves forward for these important roles, including designated positions, which received an unprecedented amount of applications. I also extend my gratitude to our outgoing Councillors for all their hard work.”

For a full list of Councillors, as well as more information on the AOP Council, visit its website.