Lights in distance Banner overlay

AOP Awards winners revealed

The winners were announced last night

06 Nov 2015 by Emily McCormick

The winners of the 2015 AOP Awards were revealed last night (5 November) in front of more than 350 guests during a special black tie gala dinner and ceremony hosted at the NEC Hilton Metropole.

Now in its fifth year, the Awards has grown in popularity year-on-year since it was established in 2011 and annually recognises the achievements of optical professionals and organisations who have gone above and beyond the call of duty over the last 12 months.

The event was hosted by BBC medical correspondent Fergus Walsh and headline sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Vision Care.

Speaking to OT about the Awards, chief executive of the AOP, Henrietta Alderman, said: “The AOP Awards give us the opportunity to celebrate the extraordinary achievements of the individuals and organisations who give so much to the public and the profession.

“Congratulations to everyone who was shortlisted for an award this year.”

The winners

Charity Initiative of the Year: Taank Optometrists

Contact Lens Practitioners of the Year: Colin Tonner 

Dispensing Optician of the Year: Lesley Oglethorpe 

Lecturer of the Year: Dr Katharine Evans

Marketing Campaign of the Year: BBR Optometry, Zeiss Office lenses promotion  

Newly-Qualified Optometrist of the Year: Neema Mojarrad

Optical Assistant of the Year: Laura Taylor

Optometrist of the Year: Dr Martin Smith

Practice of the Year: G.T. Harvey and Partners Optometrists

Student of the Year: Shaimil Shah

Young Practice of the Year: Lesley Cree Opticians

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr Maggie Woodhouse


Your comments

You must be logged in to join the discussion. Log in

Comments (1)