Silmo d’Or winners revealed

The 24th awards ceremony took place in Paris to celebrate the industry’s most creative innovators

26 Oct 2017 by Andrew McClean

The winners of this year's Silmo d’Or awards were revealed at the optical trade show, which took place in Paris (6–9 October).

It was the 24th ceremony of the awards, which celebrates the leaders in the optical industry for their creativity and innovation.

Among the winners were Marchon in the trend category for optical frames, Essilor in the glass category for vision and Fleye Copenhagen, who took home the Premiere Classe award for its ‘Fox’ frame.

Founder and head of design for Fleye Copenhagen, Annete Esto, said: "We are investing a lot of time and effort in the whole process of creating every single frame – from the first inspiration, technical drawings, and innovative solutions to the creation of the overall aesthetics in product and marketing."

"The Premiere Classe award lifts our brand to a new level. It links us to the international fashion scene, and that is something we are very proud of," she added. 

The winners of the Silmo d’or awards were: 

Sunglasses – Trend
Grosfilley Aari Bostroeam: ‘Metropolitan’

Sunglasses – Design
Veronika Wildgruber: ‘Arthur’

SK-X Optical: ‘SK-X Optical Solution’

ADCL APlus: ‘Piwatoo 261’

Optical frames – Trend
Marchon, Chloé: ‘Palma CE 2134’

Optical frames – Design
Lio Factory: ‘IVM 1048’

Vision – Glass
Essilor: ‘Varilux X’ series

Vision – Contact lenses
Novacel: ‘Binova iFlex’ multifocal sclera

Low Vision
AB Vision: ‘SeeBoost’

Nidek: ‘TS-310’

Frame technological innovation 
Rolf: ‘Deville’

Premiere Classe Award
Fleye Copenhagen: ‘Fox’

Special Jury Award
Blackfin: ‘Arc’


Your comments

You must be logged in to join the discussion. Log in

Comments (0)