IACLE presents awards to educators from around the world

The international Association of Contact Lens Educators presents four prestigious awards at the BCLA conference

The International Association of Contact Lens Educators (IACLE) presented awards to four winners at the British Contact Lens Association’s (BCLA) 40th Clinical Conference at Exhibition, which took place at the ACC in Liverpool on June 9–11.  

The IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards recognise and reward achievements in contact lens education globally. The winners from the US, Jordan and Korea each received a bursary of up to $3000 (£2378.40) towards the cost of attending a major international conference.

Professor Jan Bergmanson from the University of Houston was awarded the Americas Contact Lens Educator of the Year 2017 accolade. Dr Yazan Gammoh from Amman Ahliyah University in Jordan received the Middle East Contact Lens Educator of the Year 2017 award, and Professor Koon-ja Lee from Eulji University in Korea received the Asia Pacific Contact Lens Educator of the Year 2017 accolade. 

Kristina Mihić, from the University of Applied Sciences in Croatia was awarded the IACLE Travel Award 2017, which is a travel bursary for an IACLE educator member who would not otherwise be able to attend a major international conference. 

The ceremony, which took place on the final day of the BCLA event “marked a successful participation of IACLE, its members and fellows this year,” the organisation said. 

IACLE president, Dr Shehzad Naroo, said: “Congratulations to this year’s winners – they were truly deserving individuals. And a big thank you to the BCLA and CooperVision for supporting this IACLE initiative.”

Vice president for global professional and clinical affairs for CooperVision, Dr Gary Orsborn added: “All eye care professionals have stories about how educators influenced them to be the very best providers of excellent patient care, and I’m certain many have been inspired by this year’s recipients.” 

Nominations and applications for the 2018 IACLE Awards will open in December.

Visit the website for more information. 

Comments (0)

You must be logged in to join the discussion. Log in

Report a comment
Close modal