Elections 2021

Council members
Current AOP Council will change on the 9 June

AOP Councillors 2021

The outcome of the elections and appointments to Council has been announced. This is the full list of Council members from 9 June 2021 and includes Councillors who continue their term of office.

Councillor Representing
Emma Spofforth East of England
Tushar Majithia East Midlands
Jagdeep Kaur Gill London
Angela Henderson North East England
Dharmesh Patel
North West England
Rachel Hiscox
South East England
Ed Bickerstaffe
South West England
Francesca Marchetti
West Midlands
Stewart Mitchell
Nizz Sabir 
Yorkshire and the Humber
Julie-Anne Little
Brian McKeown
Northern Ireland
Stephanie Kearney
Eilidh Martin
Kevin Wallace
James Brawn
Kamaljit Kalsi
Inderpal Ghuman
Undergraduate Student optometrists
Luke Mc-Roy Jones
Pre-registration optometrists
Sana Asif
Ali Yasen
Newly-qualified & early career optometrists
Vijay Anand
Hospital optometrists – chair of Hospital Optometrists Committee
Jasmine Kaur Matharu
Hospital optometrists
Fatima Nawaz
Independent prescribing optometrists
Paul Chapman-Hatchett
Domiciliary care optometrists
Kris Cottier
Locum optometrists
Mehul Patel
Directors of multiple practices
Kevin Thompson
Directors of independent practices
Karan Vyas
Employees of multiple practices
Josephine Evans
Employees of independent practices
Jonathan Bennett
Franchisee/Joint Venture optometrists
James Dawson
Dispensing opticians
Will Holmes
University lecturers
Phillip Buckhurst
University lecturers – nominated by the Optometric Schools Council

The Elections Process

The AOP Council elections took place between 12 March and 26 March 2021. 

AOP practising optometrist members were invited to vote in the seven constituencies which had more candidates than vacancies: Scotland, North West England, East Midlands, West Midlands, London, South East England, and Yorkshire and the Humber. Two candidates tied for first place in Yorkshire and the Humber and have therefore both joined Council. Candidates in three seats open for nominations were elected unopposed. The AOP Board has appointed other Councillors to represent various segments of the AOP’s membership.

The work of an AOP Councillor

AOP Councillors represent our members and help to ensure that all members’ views across the UK and the profession are represented in policy-making. A significant element of a Councillor’s role is to communicate with members through various channels and to collate and present their opinions, interests, and concerns at the three annual Council meetings.

Our Councillors also promote and actively encourage membership of the AOP, attend regional CET events, deal with requests from members, and refer members to the right person within the AOP to provide answers, advice, and support.

Councillors have told us that being part of the AOP Council is a rewarding experience, with opportunities to develop new skills, network and help bring about positive changes to the future of the profession.

Read the full Councillor job description.

More information about the AOP Council

Meet and contact your AOP Councillors.

Should you have any questions or require any additional information, please email [email protected]